Skip to content

First steps towards mindfulness

July 28, 2010

 

 

feeding with awareness

Feeding ourselves means being aware of choices, taking responsibility for what we want for ourselves and feeling the enrichment of those choices…all of this takes feedback mechanisms. Shifting a relationship with our body from distrust, suspicion, betrayal and beratement to one of fulfillment, trust, desire and friendship. This is a little of what I am experiencing. It’s the inspiration for this first blog post for eatlessfeedmore. This is about weight loss as lightness of being, or weight loss from the inside out.

There is a place where we react to our situations from our small brains. With weight loss, I remember this place quite clearly. First, this spring in our brains seems to act from fear. A constant strain of worry, shame…how I looked in photos, the size of my clothes, what I ate, and deteriorating health signs such as feet and back pain—this is a hate-filled place. Everything becomes a drama—from my relationship to the weight scale (which is really just doing its job!), to the clothes I chose in my wardrobe and wear on my body, and especially to food. Eating becomes a fervent act…worrying about what to eat, how much I am eating, reacting to all of the studies with their random pieces of information that barely form a rough gestalt on which I can rely. Do you hear this noise? The constant stream of jabber in your head? It is a mental preoccupation, occupying your energy. Where is truth in here? With regards to my body, I could only always feel that this was not me. This is pretty far cry from owning my skin, in fact, in retrospect I was clearly dis-owning my body with this belief. How could I not feel full of despair? And yet, there I was, overweight and in deteriorating health. My belief of this untruth—that I somehow I wasn’t supposed to be overweight, likely lead me to a lot of suffering. Because it lead to actions of trying to fix me, like I was broken. Instead of living where I was, and listening, and responding with responsibility.

Because the truth is, I could go to hell and back and never live up to whatever the noise wanted from me. Its ok…the mind always just tries to protect. But we need to rise beyond it and find the source of our wellness inside. That way, we can let our small brains know that we are ok and can find our own way. Our unique selves are on a unique journey and for some reason that we can’t see right now, this journey includes an experience with weightiness for Right Now.

How to make this shift? This journey begins with awareness of self. In this case, we’ll start with our own body. The focus of this week’s low hanging fruit is on shifting your conscious awareness to your physical experience and the connection to your integrated (mental, emotional and physical) wellness. Use the questions as prompts and as you continue to practice shifting your attention, watch your awareness and relationship to your self and body grow. Remember your wellness is within you, and only you can work out your own solutions.

Jump to this week’s low hanging fruit!

In my next post, I will talk about the next step: developing and understanding your body’s feed-back mechanisms.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2010 9:59 pm

    Great post, Monisha. Love your wisdom on living where you are, listening, and responding with responsibility!

  2. Olga permalink
    August 18, 2012 4:32 am

    WOW. Just wow.

  3. August 23, 2012 10:56 am

    I love this post! Yes, let go of the noise and find the wellness inside.

Leave a Reply

